about celta

This information was taken from the Cambridge Assessment Teaching Qualifications Website

Who is CELTA for?

  • New teachers starting their career
  • First-language English speakers and non-first language speakers
  • Experienced teachers who want to develop their skills
  • Teachers who want to travel and teach English

Minimum entry requirements

  • Proficient English language user (CEFR Level high C1 or above)
  • Educated to the standard required for entry into higher education
  • Age 18+

Key features of CELTA

  • The most widely recognised English teaching qualification in the world
  • Provides hands-on teaching experience and observation of experienced teachers that help build your confidence in the classroom
  • CELTA can give you the training you need to work and travel the world
  • Gives you the essential skills and knowledge you need to teach English as a foreign language to adults and older teenagers
  • It’s developed by Cambridge Assessment English, the world’s leading provider of teaching qualifications and courses and part of the University of Cambridge.

Course details

  • Covers the principles of effective teaching and gives you a range of teaching techniques and practical experience
  • Teaching practice, feedback and observation of teaching are at the heart of the CELTA course, which is what makes it such a practical course. You’ll also receive tutorial support and help with planning lessons
  • It’s flexible – it can be taken full time over 4–5 weeks or part time over a few months

Main Features

  • Practical experience teaching different language levels and ages
  • Regular feedback and discussion sessions with your tutors
  • Observation of qualified and experienced teachers
  • Theoretical background
  • Practical approach to classroom management and lesson planning

The Level of CELTA: Foundation to Developing

CELTA is currently accredited in the UK by the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual) at Level 5 on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) and is a 30-credit qualification.


Level five qualifications recognise specialist learning and involve detailed analysis of a high level of information and knowledge in an area of work or study.

Celta-syllabus_and_assessment guidelines
Documento Adobe Acrobat 349.3 KB